You are here

Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner

ontemporary 4 BR Redefines Luxury Mountain Living in Tahoe Donner
Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
Don't wait - 32 people are currently interested in reserving this property!
Bedrooms: 4
Bathrooms: 3.5
Max Occupancy: 8
Master Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Main Floor)
  • King
JR Master Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Upstairs)
  • King
Bedroom 3 (Upstairs)
  • Double
Bedroom 4 (Upstairs)
  • King

Description

Amongst spires of pine, Fernwood Folly settles into forested hills in Tahoe Donner. This luxurious vacation rental is quintessential “mountain modern." It features environmentally friendly materials and technology such as corten, ledgestone, redwood and cement fiber panels. Modern sensibilities and the clean lines of a more contemporary design are often labeled as cold and impersonal, but the homeowner’s furnishings definitely round out the space in a warm and comfortable spirit.

With only bears as occasional gawkers, privacy is not so much of a concern. The tranquil views are breathtaking. Floor-to-ceiling windows bring the outdoors in so that you can enjoy the open space from the comfort of the gourmet kitchen, living room or master bedroom suite.

But why stay inside, when there is plenty to welcome you out? A full outdoor living room and dining area is situated to take full advantage of the forested setting and on the second floor deck, a hot tub awaits to enjoy a cool evening soak.

SILVER LEVEL PROPERTY

• Over 3100 Square Feet

• Private Hot Tub on Second Floor Deck

• Well-traveled Dogs Welcome (Fee applies)

• Mobility Friendly

• Wood Fireplace

• Access to Tahoe Donner amenities (See Details Below)

• Gourmet Kitchen

• Dedicated Office Space

• Publications: Tahoe Quarterly “2010 Mountain Home Design Award”, Mountain Living Magazine “Green up from the Ground”

ABOUT THE AREA

Tahoe Donner is one of America’s largest homeowner’s associations, with nearly 6,500 properties and 25,000 members enjoying over 7,000 acres in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

In the winter, enjoy on site access to cross country and downhill skiing, and a snow play area which is a favorite among our younger visitors. In the summer, take advantage of the championship golf course and clubhouse or bring the family to one of the private swimming pool complexes. You’ll also have access to a private beach club at Donner Lake, where you can avoid the crowds and spend a day paddle boarding, kayaking or sunbathing on provided chaise lounges.

Dining options within the community include The Lodge Restaurant and Pub, winner of the 2015 Open Table Diners’ Choice Award, and Pizza on the Hill, a casual spot perfect for the whole family.

Compared to other North Shore Tahoe locations, staying in Tahoe Donner cuts the drive from the bay area down by close to 45 minutes, so you’ll be enjoying the first cocktail of your vacation while others are still stuck in traffic. Tahoe Donner is minutes away from Historic Downtown Truckee, about 12 miles from Northstar California and 16 miles from Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows.

Included with your rental are two guest cards providing access to the amenities available in Tahoe Donner. Each guest card allows access for up to four guests over the age of 6. Guest access fees are currently $15 per person per day. Children under 7 are free. Daily Access Fees are only good for single use; they are no longer transferable across amenities. 

TAHOE DONNER AMENITIES INCLUDE:

• Rec center with work-out facility

• Swimming Pools and hot tub

• Fitness classes

• Downhill ski area (great for kids!)

• Cross country ski area

• Equestrian center

• Tennis center

• 18-hole golf and driving range

• Hiking, and so much more!

To learn more about the community, click the HOA Link Below.

POLICIES & DISCLOSURES:

1. Tahoe Donner Rec Center limits guest usage to 8 people over the age of six.

2. This property sits at a relatively high elevation in Tahoe Donner. While access to the driveway is flat, 4WD is always recommended during the winter months.

3. No street parking. Guest should check with a Tahoe Getaways agent if bringing a boat or RV, which includes Sprinter style vans.

4. All images of Tahoe Donner amenities provide courtesy of Tahoe Donner.

* All of our homes feature a full kitchen, washer and dryer, outdoor grill, and wireless internet (any exceptions will be noted above).

Truckee Town ID # 62-24

Amenities

  • Private Hot Tub
  • Community Hot Tub
  • Pet Friendly
  • Outdoor Furniture (Seasonal)
  • Access to Private Beach
  • Access to Fitness Center
  • Access to Swimming Pool
  • Access to Tennis Courts
  • Gas Grill
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cable Television
  • DVD Player
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Full Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Driveway Parking for 3
  • Garage Parking for 2

Rates and Availability

October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
$380 /nt
24
$380 /nt
25
$420 /nt
26
$420 /nt
27
$380 /nt
28
$380 /nt
29
$380 /nt
30
$400 /nt
31
$400 /nt
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$420 /nt
2
$420 /nt
3
$380 /nt
4
$380 /nt
5
$380 /nt
6
$380 /nt
7
$380 /nt
8
$420 /nt
9
$420 /nt
10
$380 /nt
11
$380 /nt
12
$380 /nt
13
$380 /nt
14
$380 /nt
15
$420 /nt
16
$420 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$420 /nt
23
$420 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$400 /nt
26
$400 /nt
27
$566 /nt
28
$566 /nt
29
$566 /nt
30
$566 /nt
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$395 /nt
2
$395 /nt
3
$395 /nt
4
$395 /nt
5
$395 /nt
6
$450 /nt
7
$450 /nt
8
$395 /nt
9
$395 /nt
10
$395 /nt
11
$395 /nt
12
$395 /nt
13
$450 /nt
14
$450 /nt
15
$395 /nt
16
$395 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$500 /nt
20
$500 /nt
21
$750 /nt
22
$750 /nt
23
$750 /nt
24
$750 /nt
25
$750 /nt
26
$960 /nt
27
$1,056 /nt
28
$1,056 /nt
29
$1,056 /nt
30
$1,056 /nt
31
$1,056 /nt
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$1,056 /nt
2
$1,056 /nt
3
$960 /nt
4
$960 /nt
5
$565 /nt
6
$480 /nt
7
$480 /nt
8
$480 /nt
9
$480 /nt
10
$565 /nt
11
$565 /nt
12
$565 /nt
13
$480 /nt
14
$480 /nt
15
$480 /nt
16
$528 /nt
17
$650 /nt
18
$650 /nt
19
$650 /nt
20
$528 /nt
21
$480 /nt
22
$480 /nt
23
$480 /nt
24
$565 /nt
25
$565 /nt
26
$565 /nt
27
$480 /nt
28
$480 /nt
29
$480 /nt
30
$480 /nt
31
$565 /nt
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$565 /nt
2
$565 /nt
3
$480 /nt
4
$480 /nt
5
$480 /nt
6
$480 /nt
7
$565 /nt
8
$565 /nt
9
$565 /nt
10
$480 /nt
11
$480 /nt
12
$480 /nt
13
$677 /nt
14
$798 /nt
15
$798 /nt
16
$798 /nt
17
$798 /nt
18
$677 /nt
19
$677 /nt
20
$677 /nt
21
$565 /nt
22
$565 /nt
23
$565 /nt
24
$480 /nt
25
$480 /nt
26
$480 /nt
27
$480 /nt
28
$565 /nt
29
$565 /nt
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$565 /nt
2
$480 /nt
3
$480 /nt
4
$480 /nt
5
$480 /nt
6
$565 /nt
7
$565 /nt
8
$565 /nt
9
$480 /nt
10
$480 /nt
11
$480 /nt
12
$480 /nt
13
$565 /nt
14
$565 /nt
15
$480 /nt
16
$442 /nt
17
$442 /nt
18
$442 /nt
19
$480 /nt
20
$565 /nt
21
$565 /nt
22
$480 /nt
23
$442 /nt
24
$442 /nt
25
$442 /nt
26
$480 /nt
27
$565 /nt
28
$565 /nt
29
$480 /nt
30
$442 /nt
31
$480 /nt
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$400 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$470 /nt
4
$470 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$400 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$470 /nt
11
$470 /nt
12
$400 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$400 /nt
16
$400 /nt
17
$470 /nt
18
$470 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$470 /nt
25
$470 /nt
26
$400 /nt
27
$400 /nt
28
$400 /nt
29
$400 /nt
30
$400 /nt
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$470 /nt
2
$470 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$400 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$470 /nt
9
$470 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$400 /nt
12
$400 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$470 /nt
16
$470 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$470 /nt
23
$470 /nt
24
$440 /nt
25
$400 /nt
26
$400 /nt
27
$400 /nt
28
$400 /nt
29
$470 /nt
30
$470 /nt
31
$400 /nt
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$400 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$470 /nt
6
$470 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$400 /nt
12
$470 /nt
13
$470 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$400 /nt
16
$400 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$470 /nt
20
$470 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$485 /nt
26
$485 /nt
27
$534 /nt
28
$649 /nt
29
$649 /nt
30
$649 /nt
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$649 /nt
2
$649 /nt
3
$649 /nt
4
$649 /nt
5
$649 /nt
6
$649 /nt
7
$462 /nt
8
$420 /nt
9
$485 /nt
10
$485 /nt
11
$485 /nt
12
$485 /nt
13
$420 /nt
14
$420 /nt
15
$420 /nt
16
$485 /nt
17
$485 /nt
18
$485 /nt
19
$485 /nt
20
$420 /nt
21
$420 /nt
22
$420 /nt
23
$485 /nt
24
$543 /nt
25
$543 /nt
26
$543 /nt
27
$470 /nt
28
$470 /nt
29
$470 /nt
30
$543 /nt
31
$543 /nt
 
August 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$558 /nt
2
$558 /nt
3
$483 /nt
4
$483 /nt
5
$483 /nt
6
$558 /nt
7
$558 /nt
8
$558 /nt
9
$485 /nt
10
$420 /nt
11
$420 /nt
12
$420 /nt
13
$485 /nt
14
$485 /nt
15
$485 /nt
16
$485 /nt
17
$420 /nt
18
$420 /nt
19
$420 /nt
20
$485 /nt
21
$485 /nt
22
$485 /nt
23
$485 /nt
24
$420 /nt
25
$420 /nt
26
$420 /nt
27
$485 /nt
28
$485 /nt
29
$485 /nt
30
$485 /nt
31
$420 /nt
 
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$420 /nt
2
$420 /nt
3
$485 /nt
4
$485 /nt
5
$485 /nt
6
$485 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$470 /nt
12
$470 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$400 /nt
16
$400 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$470 /nt
19
$470 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$470 /nt
26
$470 /nt
27
$400 /nt
28
$400 /nt
29
$400 /nt
30
$400 /nt
 

Reviews

Excellent home

Reviewed on2019-09-30 by
Updated on 2019-09-30
5

Beautiful home and wonderful service. Only issue is that the house indeed takes several hours to heat up. Would rent again, but would ask that the temp settings be turned up prior to arrival.


Manager Response:

So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the home. We would welcome you back for another visit anytime! This house does have hydronic heating and can take several hours to heat up. In the winter months we turn the heat up to a comfortable temperature for you in advance of your arrival, but everyone's comfort level is different so feel free to adjust when you arrive as well!


Amazing House

Reviewed on2019-09-18 by
Updated on 2019-09-18
5

We had a great stay in this beautiful home. Look forward to coming back!


Great House

Reviewed on2019-09-03 by
Updated on 2019-09-03
5

This house is a wonderful place for a family to stay with its incredible architecture and amenities. It is such a pleasure to sit in the living room with all of its windows and look out at the trees. The division of the bedrooms into a master suite on one side of the house and the other three bedrooms on the other side was perfect for our family of grandparents, adult children and grandchildren. We hope to rent this place again next summer!


Beautiful home

Reviewed on2019-04-01 by
Updated on 2019-04-01
5

The whole process was very well managed from start to finish.


Beautiful zen light-filled house, perfect place to cook, share meals and hang out.

Reviewed on2018-11-19 by
Updated on 2018-11-19
5

The house was beautifully, stylishly yet comfortably decorated. The tall ceilings and large number of picture windows brought the forest inside along with loads of natural light. It was the perfect entertaining space with a large kitchen/entertaining great room that allowed our group to cook together, share meals and hang out together. The hot tub, deep bathtub and steam shower were bonuses. Love, love, loved it! Wish it were my place.


NOT A HOUSE BUT A HOME

Reviewed on2018-10-29 by
Updated on 2018-10-29
5

My family enjoyed our holiday staying at the Fernwood Folly. The house is unique and very beautiful. But it felt like more than a house. It felt like a home. The energy is terrific! Additionally, it is close to downtown Truckee, which makes it super convenient. My family is talking about staying there again. Ignore any negative comments you see in other reviews. We are very finicky yet this exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this home to you!


Front Door Problems

Reviewed on2018-10-03 by
Updated on 2018-10-03
4

overall pretty good. The house and grounds were beautiful. The front door lock was very difficult to use. We had to call the agency for assistance and they mentioned they have gotten phone calls about this before. That is a major red flag that it should be fixed if multiple people are having problems. There was also a smell of trash coming from the kitchen sink that needs to be taken care of. Overall house was pretty clean, but there was some dust in the corners of bathrooms. I would not stay at this particular house again.


Modern design, but family friendly

Reviewed on2018-08-27 by
Updated on 2018-08-27
5

Very cool house in a nice quiet neighborhood!


Weekend Adventure

Reviewed on2018-08-22 by
Updated on 2018-08-22
5

We rented this home for 2 nights, it was fantastic. The finishes are great, spacious layout, and very comfortable. There is a steep cleaning fee as noted in other reviews, leading to initially not wanting to book this home, however, it was well worth it. (My family is very tidy and clean so we ensured to leave the home spotless)


When I booked the reservation, I spoke with Tatum, she was lovely to work with, giving me extra details and explained how the Tahoe Getaways process works.


I would rate this stay 5 Stars, the Home overall was perfect, and suited us well. We will rent this home again soon, assuming it’s availability is open. Cheers


Manager Response:

We are so happy to hear that Tatum took great care of your group and that you loved the home and all it had to offer. We'd love to host you again anytime!


2018 Tahoe Vacation at Fernwood Folly

Reviewed on2018-08-20 by
Updated on 2018-08-20
5

We enjoyed Fernwood Folly immensely! Beautiful property, lots of space, great location. We hope to be able to rent this same property again in the future.


Mountain Retreat

Reviewed on2018-06-29 by
Updated on 2018-06-29
3

I enjoyed the homes layout with simple modern touches throughout. It was beautifully located in the mountains ...offering a since of peace and tranquility.


We had an issue with ants and the property management was very responsive. Within the hour, they sent someone out to put baits down. We still had problems with the ants after treatment, but it was not as bad as before treatment.


I was very disappointed because there was quite a bit of dust around the beds, cob webs with dead insects in the guest bath and once you moved the bar stools, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time.


Manager Response:

Thank you for your review! I am very glad we were able to assist your group quickly and that you had a great stay with us. For future renters, we have taken action by spraying around the perimeter of the home for insects and have been keeping close tabs to mitigate any insect activity. This home has large modern windows which open with a push of a button. If left open for extended periods of time they can allow entrance for insects. There are other windows with screens that guests will be able to utilize to help alleviate this issue as well.


Great Vacation House for Adults in Tahoe

Reviewed on2018-05-08 by
Updated on 2018-05-08
5

I was part of a group of eight adults that stayed at Fernwood Folly in early May, 2018. Things that we loved about the house: Huge kitchen and island, perfect for cooking and enjoying each other's company. The office allowed one of the guests to work in private. Nice grill and patio area. Hi-tech home features including lighting controls, house fans, automatic shades, etc...A few people enjoyed the hot tub, and the house is close to Truckee, but positioned nicely in a quiet part of Tahoe Donner.


There are a few things that would have improved our stay - three of the five burners on the cooktop did not work, and there were not very many cleaning supplies. I was aware that the house instructions mentioned bringing additional toilet paper, towels, soap, etc...however the vacation would have been more seamless if sufficient quantities of these essentials were provided up front.


Overall, we would stay here again.


Beautifully modern home in Truckee

Reviewed on2018-01-31 by
Updated on 2018-01-31
5

This house was incredible, to say the least. Most of my Tahoe experiences have been in rustic cabins, so this super modern home was a really nice change. It was impeccably clean and provided all of the amenities needed for a comfortable, relaxing stay. The open kitchen and living area was perfect for our group to hang by the fire, while the some prepared meals in the kitchen. It was also a quick 10 minute drive into town where there were a ton of bars, restaurants and shops to pop in to, but in all honesty, why would you want to with a home like this? I would highly, highly recommend this property to anyone thinking about making a trip to Tahoe.


Beautiful architecture

Reviewed on2017-09-22 by
Updated on 2017-09-22
3

 We had a nice overall stay at the Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner. Anyone who loves modern architecture would probably enjoy a stay here. There's a steep cleaning fee that covers all 4 bedrooms, so it's probably best that only large parties stay here to make the cleaning fee worth while. The home is located just off the corner of a neighborhood and a moderately busy street, so it wasn't as remote as we thought based on the photos. One aspect of our stay that we didn't like was the lack of blinds in the master bathroom. There's a new home finishing construction just outside the window (very close to the bathroom windows), and we were fully viewable at all times by the construction workers, or, the home owners. This made showering or using the bathroom very difficult.


Beautiful home - for a winter (not summer) visit

Reviewed on2017-08-01 by
Updated on 2017-08-01
4

This home is spectacular! It's well appointed and very comfortable. But if sleep is something you care about, don't stay here in the summer time (or else make sure everyone has an eye mask!). There are no shades on most of the windows, and where there are shades, the shades are basically translucent and so all the light comes in. This was especially tough for putting the kids to bed (so we bought some black tarp and covered as many windows in their room as we could). This is something it would have been nice to know in advance, as we booked the place for a month and this hugely impacted our ability to enjoy it fully. That and the fact that there was construction on the lot next door 7 days a week for the full month we were there. Lastly, the floors get very dirty and seem difficult to clean (we had cleaners come during our stay and still our feet were always dirty) so BRING SLIPPERS!


We stayed here for a month and everything else about this home is PERFECTION. Literally, no complaints AT ALL. I think this home is PERFECT for a winter visit to Tahoe. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully designed. The furniture and beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is PERFECT and the dishes and cookware were an upgrade from what we have at home. They seem to have thought of everything here (except window shades).


The location could not have been any better!


Super comfortable modern cabin in Tahoe Donner!

Reviewed on2017-04-11 by
Updated on 2017-04-11
5

Excellent. The beds were super comfortable. Climate control was excellent. Loved the steam room in the master bedroom and the hot tug on the deck!


Great house

Reviewed on2017-03-15 by
Updated on 2017-03-15
4

Loved the house. Wished that there was one more bed available in the office to lower the general price for the place. The house was nice, but a little dated when it came to bedrooms.For the price I would expect a bit of attention paid to the ambiance of each room. Maybe modern bedspreads would spruce it up a bit. Also the lack of window shades was a bummer:( The house was not immaculate when we arrived either, not dirty but the cobwebs and dust bunnies were lingering. Just a few basic touches would make it a 5 star review. Thanks for the space, we enjoyed ourselves.


Wonderful Stay

Reviewed on2017-02-01 by
Updated on 2017-02-01
5

We really enjoyed staying the Fernwood Folly. Beautiful home with all the amenities that make a vacation relaxing. Great kitchen, wood burning fireplace and hot tub! Not to mention the amazing windows. We would definitely return.


Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner

Reviewed on2017-01-18 by
Updated on 2017-01-18
5

Enjoy it a lot.


perfect for a family gateway

Reviewed on2016-08-17 by
Updated on 2016-08-17
5

A well-designed, modern and functional home. Tahoe Gateways Team has made it perfect, punctual, professional and welcomed. a five star quality in almost every respects. highly recommend for a family reunion, friends getaway, and soul searching. hope we may have an opportunity coming back again.


a plaisant vacation

Reviewed on2016-07-26 by
Updated on 2016-07-26
5

nice home, very quiet. Perfect for 2 family. Very modern and functional. We'd like more curtains at the windows for sleeping and to be hidden from outside.


July Stay

Reviewed on2016-07-13 by
Updated on 2016-07-13
5

Beautiful home. Called property management company to let them know the cleaning crew is not thorough and many kitchen items were put away dirty and the grill and outdoor furniture was filthy. They were accommodating and offered to have a cleaning crew come right out to fix the situation. Backyard is private. Beds are very comfortable and the house worked perfectly for us. The location was a bit remote to the activities we like to do at Lake Tahoe, be we knew that when booking. I would stay again and thought customer service was excellent.


Fernwood Folly -

Reviewed on2016-03-15 by
Updated on 2016-03-15
5

great experience, beautiful house!


Map