You are here

Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner

4.6774
4.7 (31 Reviews)
4 Bedrooms
3 Bathrooms - Half 1
8 Guests
Primary Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Main Floor)
1 King
JR Primary Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Upstairs)
1 King
Bedroom 3 (Upstairs)
1 King
Bedroom 4 (Upstairs)
1 Double
Full Bathroom
Full Bathroom
Full Bathroom
Half Bathroom

Featured Amenities

  • Private Hot Tub
  • Community Hot Tub
  • Pet Friendly
  • Access to Fitness Center
  • Access to Swimming Pool

Description

Set in a quiet neighborhood in Tahoe Donner, this vacation home is quintessential “mountain modern".

Fernwood Folly features environmentally friendly materials and technology such as COR-TEN steel, ledge stone, redwood, and cement fiber panels. Modern sensibilities and the clean lines of a more contemporary design are often labeled as cold and impersonal, but the homeowner’s furnishings definitely round out the space in a warm and comfortable spirit.

With only bears as the occasional gawkers, privacy is not so much of a concern. The tranquil views are breathtaking. Floor-to-ceiling windows bring the outdoors in so that you can enjoy the open space from the comfort of the gourmet kitchen, living room, or Primary bedroom suite. But why stay inside, when there is plenty to welcome you out? A full outdoor living room and dining area is situated to take full advantage of the forested setting and on the second-floor deck, a hot tub awaits to enjoy a cool evening soak.

SILVER LEVEL PROPERTY
• Over 3,100 Square Feet
• Private Hot Tub on Second Floor Deck
• Well-traveled dogs (2 maximum) welcome (fee applies)
• Mobility Friendly
• Wood Fireplace
• Gas BBQ (seasonal)
• Access to Tahoe Donner amenities (See Details Below)
• Gourmet Kitchen
• Dedicated Office Space
• Publications: Tahoe Quarterly “2010 Mountain Home Design Award”, Mountain Living Magazine “Green up from the Ground”

ABOUT THE AREA
Tahoe Donner warmly embraces all who venture within its bounds, proudly standing as one of America's largest homeowner's associations. Spanning nearly 6,500 properties and boasting 25,000 members, this breathtaking haven encompasses over 7,000 acres in the breathtaking Sierra Nevada mountains. Immerse yourself in the splendor of Tahoe Donner, where pristine natural beauty reigns supreme, with its striking pine trees, glistening lakes, and majestic peaks, offering a year-round playground for outdoor enthusiasts.

In the winter, Tahoe Donner transforms into a magical wonderland, enchanting visitors with an onsite family-friendly ski resort, a developed cross-country skiing area, and a snow play area where young adventurers can happily slide down the hillside. In the summer, take advantage of the championship golf course and clubhouse, or bring the family to one of the private swimming pool complexes. Don't miss the chance to visit the private beach club nestled along the shores of Donner Lake, where you can escape the crowds and engage in paddleboarding, kayaking, or simply luxuriate on provided beach chaise lounges.

For delectable dining experiences, look no further than The Lodge Restaurant & Pub, a renowned neighborhood bistro that has garnered numerous accolades. Offering breathtaking views and an abundance of outdoor seating, this establishment is an ideal gathering spot for family and friends. For last-minute grocery essentials, Z Marketplace has a curated selection of wine and spirits, a delectable deli selection, and a daily BBQ. Additional dining options include: Pizza on the Hill, Alder Creek Cafe & Bar, Marco Polo Grill, and Ski Grill + Bar.

For regular visitors, aka weekend warriors, Tahoe Donner provides a distinct advantage over other North Shore Tahoe locations, significantly reducing the travel time from the Bay Area by approximately 45 minutes. While others find themselves in traffic, you can settle in and savor your first cocktail in the comfort of this idyllic retreat. Tahoe Donner lies within a few minutes of Historic Downtown Truckee, 12 miles from Northstar California, and 16 miles from the renowned Palisades Tahoe ski resort.

Included with your rental are two guest cards providing access to the amenities available in Tahoe Donner. Each guest card allows access for up to four guests over the age of 6. Daily fee for rental guest per person per day. Children under 7 are free. All images of Tahoe Donner amenities are provided courtesy of Tahoe Donner.  For more info please visit – www.tahoedonner.com

TAHOE DONNER AMENITIES INCLUDE:
• Rec center with work-out facility
• Swimming Pools and hot tub
• Fitness classes
• Downhill ski area (great for kids!)
• Cross country ski area
• Equestrian center
• Tennis center
• 18-hole golf and driving range
• Hiking, and so much more!
To learn more about the community, click the HOA Link Below.

POLICIES & DISCLOSURES:

1. Maximum daytime and nighttime occupancy is 8 adults.
2. Parking for 5 vehicles. Street parking is prohibited year-round.
3. 4WD vehicles are strongly advised during the winter months.
4. Due to Extreme Fire Danger – The use of ANY outdoor firepit or fireplace is strictly prohibited at any of our rental properties. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation as we work to keep our community safe from wildfires. 
 

Town of Truckee Certificate 027140

Amenities

Custom

  • Private Hot Tub
  • Community Hot Tub
  • Pet Friendly
  • Outdoor Furniture (Seasonal)
  • Beach Access
  • Access to Fitness Center
  • Access to Swimming Pool
  • Access to Tennis Courts
  • Gas Grill (Seasonal)
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cable Television
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Full Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Driveway Parking for 3
  • Garage Parking for 2
  • King Bed
  • NO A/C
  • Remote Workspace
  • Dining Room
  • Dining Area

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
February 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
$700 /nt
22
$700 /nt
23
$800 /nt
24
$800 /nt
25
$502 /nt
26
$450 /nt
27
$450 /nt
28
$450 /nt
29
$502 /nt
 
March 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$544 /nt
2
$544 /nt
3
$450 /nt
4
$450 /nt
5
$450 /nt
6
$450 /nt
7
$502 /nt
8
$550 /nt
9
$550 /nt
10
$486 /nt
11
$450 /nt
12
$450 /nt
13
$450 /nt
14
$485 /nt
15
$572 /nt
16
$572 /nt
17
$502 /nt
18
$410 /nt
19
$410 /nt
20
$410 /nt
21
$410 /nt
22
$410 /nt
23
$475 /nt
24
$402 /nt
25
$447 /nt
26
$447 /nt
27
$402 /nt
28
$326 /nt
29
$430 /nt
30
$430 /nt
31
$400 /nt
 
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$400 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$400 /nt
7
$360 /nt
8
$360 /nt
9
$388 /nt
10
$388 /nt
11
$369 /nt
12
$400 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$369 /nt
15
$369 /nt
16
$369 /nt
17
$358 /nt
18
$343 /nt
19
$386 /nt
20
$386 /nt
21
$343 /nt
22
$343 /nt
23
$343 /nt
24
$343 /nt
25
$343 /nt
26
$386 /nt
27
$386 /nt
28
$361 /nt
29
$361 /nt
30
$361 /nt
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$361 /nt
2
$350 /nt
3
$394 /nt
4
$394 /nt
5
$365 /nt
6
$365 /nt
7
$365 /nt
8
$365 /nt
9
$365 /nt
10
$411 /nt
11
$411 /nt
12
$376 /nt
13
$376 /nt
14
$376 /nt
15
$376 /nt
16
$376 /nt
17
$423 /nt
18
$423 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$450 /nt
25
$450 /nt
26
$456 /nt
27
$400 /nt
28
$400 /nt
29
$400 /nt
30
$400 /nt
31
$450 /nt
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$450 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$450 /nt
6
$450 /nt
7
$500 /nt
8
$500 /nt
9
$500 /nt
10
$450 /nt
11
$450 /nt
12
$450 /nt
13
$450 /nt
14
$500 /nt
15
$500 /nt
16
$500 /nt
17
$450 /nt
18
$450 /nt
19
$450 /nt
20
$518 /nt
21
$550 /nt
22
$550 /nt
23
$540 /nt
24
$540 /nt
25
$540 /nt
26
$540 /nt
27
$600 /nt
28
$850 /nt
29
$850 /nt
30
$850 /nt
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$850 /nt
2
$850 /nt
3
$844 /nt
4
$844 /nt
5
$844 /nt
6
$850 /nt
7
$600 /nt
8
$540 /nt
9
$540 /nt
10
$540 /nt
11
$600 /nt
12
$600 /nt
13
$600 /nt
14
$600 /nt
15
$540 /nt
16
$540 /nt
17
$540 /nt
18
$672 /nt
19
$672 /nt
20
$672 /nt
21
$672 /nt
22
$605 /nt
23
$605 /nt
24
$605 /nt
25
$672 /nt
26
$672 /nt
27
$672 /nt
28
$672 /nt
29
$605 /nt
30
$605 /nt
31
$605 /nt
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$660 /nt
2
$660 /nt
3
$660 /nt
4
$600 /nt
5
$540 /nt
6
$540 /nt
7
$540 /nt
8
$600 /nt
9
$600 /nt
10
$600 /nt
11
$600 /nt
12
$540 /nt
13
$450 /nt
14
$450 /nt
15
$450 /nt
16
$500 /nt
17
$500 /nt
18
$500 /nt
19
$450 /nt
20
$450 /nt
21
$450 /nt
22
$450 /nt
23
$500 /nt
24
$500 /nt
25
$500 /nt
26
$450 /nt
27
$450 /nt
28
$450 /nt
29
$450 /nt
30
$605 /nt
31
$605 /nt
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$605 /nt
2
$450 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$450 /nt
7
$450 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$400 /nt
12
$400 /nt
13
$450 /nt
14
$450 /nt
15
$400 /nt
16
$400 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$450 /nt
21
$450 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$400 /nt
26
$400 /nt
27
$450 /nt
28
$450 /nt
29
$400 /nt
30
$400 /nt
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$400 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$450 /nt
5
$450 /nt
6
$400 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$450 /nt
12
$450 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$400 /nt
16
$400 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$450 /nt
19
$450 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$400 /nt
23
$400 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$450 /nt
26
$450 /nt
27
$400 /nt
28
$400 /nt
29
$400 /nt
30
$400 /nt
31
$400 /nt
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$450 /nt
2
$450 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$400 /nt
7
$400 /nt
8
$450 /nt
9
$450 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$400 /nt
12
$400 /nt
13
$400 /nt
14
$400 /nt
15
$450 /nt
16
$450 /nt
17
$400 /nt
18
$400 /nt
19
$400 /nt
20
$400 /nt
21
$400 /nt
22
$450 /nt
23
$450 /nt
24
$400 /nt
25
$400 /nt
26
$700 /nt
27
$700 /nt
28
$700 /nt
29
$700 /nt
30
$700 /nt
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$400 /nt
2
$400 /nt
3
$400 /nt
4
$400 /nt
5
$400 /nt
6
$450 /nt
7
$450 /nt
8
$400 /nt
9
$400 /nt
10
$400 /nt
11
$500 /nt
12
$590 /nt
13
$590 /nt
14
$590 /nt
15
$590 /nt
16
$500 /nt
17
$500 /nt
18
$500 /nt
19
$590 /nt
20
$1,235 /nt
21
$1,235 /nt
22
$1,235 /nt
23
$1,235 /nt
24
$1,235 /nt
25
$1,235 /nt
26
$1,430 /nt
27
$1,430 /nt
28
$1,430 /nt
29
$1,430 /nt
30
$1,430 /nt
31
$1,430 /nt
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$1,430 /nt
2
$1,430 /nt
3
$1,430 /nt
4
$1,430 /nt
5
$590 /nt
6
$500 /nt
7
$500 /nt
8
$500 /nt
9
$590 /nt
10
$590 /nt
11
$590 /nt
12
$590 /nt
13
$500 /nt
14
$500 /nt
15
$500 /nt
16
$590 /nt
17
$679 /nt
18
$679 /nt
19
$679 /nt
20
$500 /nt
21
$500 /nt
22
$500 /nt
23
$590 /nt
24
$590 /nt
25
$590 /nt
26
$590 /nt
27
$500 /nt
28
$500 /nt
29
$500 /nt
30
$590 /nt
31
$590 /nt
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$590 /nt
2
$590 /nt
3
$500 /nt
4
$500 /nt
5
$500 /nt
6
$590 /nt
7
$590 /nt
8
$590 /nt
9
$590 /nt
10
$500 /nt
11
$500 /nt
12
$500 /nt
13
$590 /nt
14
$1,200 /nt
15
$1,200 /nt
16
$1,200 /nt
17
$1,200 /nt
18
$975 /nt
19
$975 /nt
20
$975 /nt
21
$1,200 /nt
22
$1,200 /nt
23
$590 /nt
24
$500 /nt
25
$500 /nt
26
$500 /nt
27
$590 /nt
28
$590 /nt
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Location

Reviews

Leave a Review

Lovely modern cabin with all the amenities

Sent on 2023-04-01 by Matt
Overall
5

Spacious and modern, this cabin is a perfect place to watch the snow fall after a day outside. Well equipped kitchen and huge island are great for chefs. Radiant floor heat a nice plus.

Amazing home in Truckee!

Sent on 2021-10-18 by Carla
Overall
5

We didn't want to leave Fernwood Folly after an all too brief 2-night stay. Everything about the house made for a perfect getaway: beautiful design, easy layout, clean, fresh and modern, and so comfortable. Tahoe Getaways was extremely proactive and helpful throughout the whole reservation process (as always) and made our stay that much more relaxing by offering a late check out ($100 fee) and accommodating our dogs (+ fee). The home is in a really convenient location to trails and town - yet still quiet and private. We will be back!

Best winter stay!

Sent on 2021-02-06 by Jennifer
Overall
5

We had an amazing time at the Fernwood house with our family of 5 + dog! The house was a perfect combination of space for all of us, but great common spaces to hang out. The windows in this place are phenomenal, and I spent hours staring out at the snowy trees. Excellent kitchen, well stocked. Huge backyard area for the dog to roam. And Tahoe Getaways was super responsive when we needed some assistance. Really appreciated their communication. We’d love to come back.

Fernwood Folly review - October 2020 stay

Sent on 2020-10-13 by Joyce
Overall
4

Great house that comfortably suited our party of 8 people (mix of kids and adults). Great location not far from Truckee conveniences but also near trailheads and short drive to local lakes, etc. Well-appointed kitchen with lots of plates, bowls, silverware and cookery. Very spacious and comfortable with large sofa, dining table to seat 10 and large island with seats. Not a 5-star review due to house not being very clean. Dishes and linens were clean but floors and hot tub were not. Also more linens are needed (only large bath towels provided, no hand towels or kitchen towels).

Manager's Response

We are glad you found the home comfortable and well laid out. I can assure you that the home was cleaned prior to your arrival, but it does seem as though a few spots were missed - for that we truly apologize! I have made sure this home has seen a deeper clean so this won't be an issue moving forward.

Beautiful house in lovely setting

Sent on 2020-07-07 by Gallia
Overall
4

House is beautiful and we had a very pleasant stay. The automatic temperature control keeps the house remarkably cool even when it is quite hot outside. Major issue was quality of internet- it went out completely for an entire day at a time 2 times during our stay and the rest of the time the WiFi signal was very weak. When this happens you have to call the provider, wait on hold for a long time and then they won’t send anyone out without a request from the owner. Tahoe Getaways staff were as helpful as they could be but ultimately could not do anything about the poor internet. This impacted the ability to get any work done. Other more minor issue is linens are not great in some of the rooms- they are worn and in one room were the wrong size. One room had no duvet just a thin quilt. As mentioned, Tahoe Getaways staff were always very helpful with other minor issues during the stay.

Nice house, could use some maintenance

Sent on 2020-02-01 by Wendy R.
Overall
4

The house is a good size for 8 adults. The kitchen was well appointed, nice washer/dryer. Just about everything you need in a house for comfort/convenience. There are some general maintenance issues; running toilets, broken light fixtures in master bath, slow sink draining in master bath. The property management was quick to respond and send out someone to help. Overall it is a nice place to stay, we enjoyed our trip.

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad we were able to resolve the running toilet and slow draining sink for you as soon as you brought those items to or attention. We are in the process of navigating the replacement of the master bathroom light fixtures with the home owner. The issue is purely cosmetic and should not affect the lighting in the bathroom in the meantime. We are glad you hear your were comfortable and think future renters will be as well!

Sweet short stay

Sent on 2019-11-17 by Lorrie C.
Overall
5

Beautiful home - we had a lovely few days exploring and hiking and came back to this lovely large home

Excellent home

Sent on 2019-09-30 by Danielle
Overall
5

Beautiful home and wonderful service. Only issue is that the house indeed takes several hours to heat up. Would rent again, but would ask that the temp settings be turned up prior to arrival.

Manager's Response

So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the home. We would welcome you back for another visit anytime! This house does have hydronic heating and can take several hours to heat up. In the winter months we turn the heat up to a comfortable temperature for you in advance of your arrival, but everyone's comfort level is different so feel free to adjust when you arrive as well!

Amazing House

Sent on 2019-09-18 by Anne A.
Overall
5

We had a great stay in this beautiful home. Look forward to coming back!

Great House

Sent on 2019-09-03 by Carole
Overall
5

This house is a wonderful place for a family to stay with its incredible architecture and amenities. It is such a pleasure to sit in the living room with all of its windows and look out at the trees. The division of the bedrooms into a master suite on one side of the house and the other three bedrooms on the other side was perfect for our family of grandparents, adult children and grandchildren. We hope to rent this place again next summer!

Beautiful home

Sent on 2019-04-01 by Warren K.
Overall
5

The whole process was very well managed from start to finish.

Beautiful zen light-filled house, perfect place to cook, share meals and hang out.

Sent on 2018-11-19 by Nancy B.
Overall
5

The house was beautifully, stylishly yet comfortably decorated. The tall ceilings and large number of picture windows brought the forest inside along with loads of natural light. It was the perfect entertaining space with a large kitchen/entertaining great room that allowed our group to cook together, share meals and hang out together. The hot tub, deep bathtub and steam shower were bonuses. Love, love, loved it! Wish it were my place.

NOT A HOUSE BUT A HOME

Sent on 2018-10-29 by Richard
Overall
5

My family enjoyed our holiday staying at the Fernwood Folly. The house is unique and very beautiful. But it felt like more than a house. It felt like a home. The energy is terrific! Additionally, it is close to downtown Truckee, which makes it super convenient. My family is talking about staying there again. Ignore any negative comments you see in other reviews. We are very finicky yet this exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this home to you!

Front Door Problems

Sent on 2018-10-03 by Erin
Overall
4

overall pretty good. The house and grounds were beautiful. The front door lock was very difficult to use. We had to call the agency for assistance and they mentioned they have gotten phone calls about this before. That is a major red flag that it should be fixed if multiple people are having problems. There was also a smell of trash coming from the kitchen sink that needs to be taken care of. Overall house was pretty clean, but there was some dust in the corners of bathrooms. I would not stay at this particular house again.

Modern design, but family friendly

Sent on 2018-08-27 by Lynn
Overall
5

Very cool house in a nice quiet neighborhood!

Weekend Adventure

Sent on 2018-08-22 by Vadim
Overall
5

We rented this home for 2 nights, it was fantastic. The finishes are great, spacious layout, and very comfortable. There is a steep cleaning fee as noted in other reviews, leading to initially not wanting to book this home, however, it was well worth it. (My family is very tidy and clean so we ensured to leave the home spotless)<br /><br />When I booked the reservation, I spoke with Tatum, she was lovely to work with, giving me extra details and explained how the Tahoe Getaways process works.<br /><br />I would rate this stay 5 Stars, the Home overall was perfect, and suited us well. We will rent this home again soon, assuming it’s availability is open. Cheers

Manager's Response

We are so happy to hear that Tatum took great care of your group and that you loved the home and all it had to offer. We'd love to host you again anytime!

2018 Tahoe Vacation at Fernwood Folly

Sent on 2018-08-20 by James
Overall
5

We enjoyed Fernwood Folly immensely! Beautiful property, lots of space, great location. We hope to be able to rent this same property again in the future.

Mountain Retreat

Sent on 2018-06-29 by Janeen
Overall
3

I enjoyed the homes layout with simple modern touches throughout. It was beautifully located in the mountains ...offering a since of peace and tranquility.<br /><br />We had an issue with ants and the property management was very responsive. Within the hour, they sent someone out to put baits down. We still had problems with the ants after treatment, but it was not as bad as before treatment.<br /><br />I was very disappointed because there was quite a bit of dust around the beds, cob webs with dead insects in the guest bath and once you moved the bar stools, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review! I am very glad we were able to assist your group quickly and that you had a great stay with us. For future renters, we have taken action by spraying around the perimeter of the home for insects and have been keeping close tabs to mitigate any insect activity. This home has large modern windows which open with a push of a button. If left open for extended periods of time they can allow entrance for insects. There are other windows with screens that guests will be able to utilize to help alleviate this issue as well.

Great Vacation House for Adults in Tahoe

Sent on 2018-05-08 by Lukas
Overall
5

I was part of a group of eight adults that stayed at Fernwood Folly in early May, 2018. Things that we loved about the house: Huge kitchen and island, perfect for cooking and enjoying each other's company. The office allowed one of the guests to work in private. Nice grill and patio area. Hi-tech home features including lighting controls, house fans, automatic shades, etc...A few people enjoyed the hot tub, and the house is close to Truckee, but positioned nicely in a quiet part of Tahoe Donner.<br/><br/>There are a few things that would have improved our stay - three of the five burners on the cooktop did not work, and there were not very many cleaning supplies. I was aware that the house instructions mentioned bringing additional toilet paper, towels, soap, etc...however the vacation would have been more seamless if sufficient quantities of these essentials were provided up front. <br/><br/>Overall, we would stay here again.

Beautifully modern home in Truckee

Sent on 2018-01-31 by Jonathan
Overall
5

This house was incredible, to say the least. Most of my Tahoe experiences have been in rustic cabins, so this super modern home was a really nice change. It was impeccably clean and provided all of the amenities needed for a comfortable, relaxing stay. The open kitchen and living area was perfect for our group to hang by the fire, while the some prepared meals in the kitchen. It was also a quick 10 minute drive into town where there were a ton of bars, restaurants and shops to pop in to, but in all honesty, why would you want to with a home like this? I would highly, highly recommend this property to anyone thinking about making a trip to Tahoe.

Beautiful architecture

Sent on 2017-09-22 by Travis B.
Overall
3

 We had a nice overall stay at the Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner. Anyone who loves modern architecture would probably enjoy a stay here. There's a steep cleaning fee that covers all 4 bedrooms, so it's probably best that only large parties stay here to make the cleaning fee worth while. The home is located just off the corner of a neighborhood and a moderately busy street, so it wasn't as remote as we thought based on the photos. One aspect of our stay that we didn't like was the lack of blinds in the master bathroom. There's a new home finishing construction just outside the window (very close to the bathroom windows), and we were fully viewable at all times by the construction workers, or, the home owners. This made showering or using the bathroom very difficult.

Beautiful home - for a winter (not summer) visit

Sent on 2017-08-01 by Marcy
Overall
4

This home is spectacular! It's well appointed and very comfortable. But if sleep is something you care about, don't stay here in the summer time (or else make sure everyone has an eye mask!). There are no shades on most of the windows, and where there are shades, the shades are basically translucent and so all the light comes in. This was especially tough for putting the kids to bed (so we bought some black tarp and covered as many windows in their room as we could). This is something it would have been nice to know in advance, as we booked the place for a month and this hugely impacted our ability to enjoy it fully. That and the fact that there was construction on the lot next door 7 days a week for the full month we were there. Lastly, the floors get very dirty and seem difficult to clean (we had cleaners come during our stay and still our feet were always dirty) so BRING SLIPPERS!<br/><br/>We stayed here for a month and everything else about this home is PERFECTION. Literally, no complaints AT ALL. I think this home is PERFECT for a winter visit to Tahoe. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully designed. The furniture and beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is PERFECT and the dishes and cookware were an upgrade from what we have at home. They seem to have thought of everything here (except window shades). <br/><br/>The location could not have been any better!

Super comfortable modern cabin in Tahoe Donner!

Sent on 2017-04-11 by Wendy
Overall
5

Excellent. The beds were super comfortable. Climate control was excellent. Loved the steam room in the master bedroom and the hot tug on the deck!

Great house

Sent on 2017-03-15 by Toby
Overall
4

Loved the house. Wished that there was one more bed available in the office to lower the general price for the place. The house was nice, but a little dated when it came to bedrooms.For the price I would expect a bit of attention paid to the ambiance of each room. Maybe modern bedspreads would spruce it up a bit. Also the lack of window shades was a bummer:( The house was not immaculate when we arrived either, not dirty but the cobwebs and dust bunnies were lingering. Just a few basic touches would make it a 5 star review. Thanks for the space, we enjoyed ourselves.

Wonderful Stay

Sent on 2017-02-01 by Brittany
Overall
5

We really enjoyed staying the Fernwood Folly. Beautiful home with all the amenities that make a vacation relaxing. Great kitchen, wood burning fireplace and hot tub! Not to mention the amazing windows. We would definitely return.

Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner

Sent on 2017-01-18 by Aaron
Overall
5

Enjoy it a lot.

perfect for a family gateway

Sent on 2016-09-06 by James
Overall
5

a well-designed, modern and functional home. Tahoe Gateways Team has made it perfect, punctual, professional and welcomed. a five star quality in almost every respects. highly recommend for a family reunion, friends getaway, and soul searching. hope we may have an opportunity coming back again.

perfect for a family gateway

Sent on 2016-08-17 by James M.
Overall
5

A well-designed, modern and functional home. Tahoe Gateways Team has made it perfect, punctual, professional and welcomed. a five star quality in almost every respects. highly recommend for a family reunion, friends getaway, and soul searching. hope we may have an opportunity coming back again.

a plaisant vacation

Sent on 2016-07-26 by Emmanuelle
Overall
5

nice home, very quiet. Perfect for 2 family. Very modern and functional. We'd like more curtains at the windows for sleeping and to be hidden from outside.

July Stay

Sent on 2016-07-13 by Melissa
Overall
5

Beautiful home. Called property management company to let them know the cleaning crew is not thorough and many kitchen items were put away dirty and the grill and outdoor furniture was filthy. They were accommodating and offered to have a cleaning crew come right out to fix the situation. Backyard is private. Beds are very comfortable and the house worked perfectly for us. The location was a bit remote to the activities we like to do at Lake Tahoe, be we knew that when booking. I would stay again and thought customer service was excellent.

Fernwood Folly -

Sent on 2016-03-15 by Jill
Overall
5

great experience, beautiful house!

×