You are here

Grand Vista Lodge at Tahoe Donner

Large Home, Stunning Views with Private Hot Tub
Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
Don't wait - 36 people are currently interested in reserving this property!
Bedrooms: 5
Bathrooms: 4.5
Max Occupancy: 12
Primary Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Main Floor)
  • King
2nd Primary Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Downstairs)
  • Queen
JR Primary Bedroom w/ ensuite bath (Downstairs)
  • Queen
Bedroom 4 (Downstairs)
  • Queen
Bedroom 5 Twin over Double Bunk (Downstairs)
  • Double
  • Twin Single
Additional Area
  • Upstairs Loft - Two Twins

Description

Designed for entertaining and providing one of the most expansive views of the Carson Range in Tahoe Donner, the Grand Vista lodge is the perfect retreat for a family gathering or a fun-filled holiday with friends.

Spanning nearly 4,800 square feet, the Grand Vista lodge represents an eclectic mountain style that makes it stand out from the crowd.

Upon entry, your guests will appreciate its scale with massive vaulted ceilings and large picture windows framing the views beyond. You can't help but feel inclined to venture out to the spacious back deck to take in that view and maybe catch a glimpse of wild deer passing through the backyard. If it’s too chilly outside, return indoors to the warm glow of the real wood fireplace to enjoy a good book and a warm drink.

Thick wooden beams and a stone fireplace fill the living room with natural texture, while leather sofas are soft and inviting. Not only does the fully equipped kitchen have a breakfast bar and stainless steel appliances, it features a double oven and six-burner gas stove, a treat for the gourmet chef in your group.  The farmhouse-inspired dining table will be the ideal locale for those memorable home-cooked deals.

The five bedrooms at this luxury vacation rental can accommodate up to thirteen guests. On the main floor, a plush Primary suite offers panoramic mountain views as well as its own fireplace and luxurious Primary bath.  Above the main living area, an extra sleeping loft includes two twin beds while the majority of the sleeping quarters are located, downstairs on the ground floor.   As you enter the lower level, it’s clear that the common areas are set up for evening entertainment.  The pool table room offers views of the grand vistas and a gas fireplace, while the family room offers a comfy place to watch a favorite movie with surround sound.

Four guest rooms on this floor include two Primary suites with private en suite bathrooms as well as direct access to the back deck and hot tub. The last two bedrooms share a full bath between them.

GOLD LEVEL PROPERTY

• 4739 Square Feet
• Covered Hot Tub on Lower Deck
• Wood Fireplace in Great Room
• Gas Fireplace in Primary Bedroom and Pool Table Room
• Family Room Downstairs with Flat-screen TV and Stereo Surround Sound
• Access to Tahoe Donner amenities (See Details Below)
• No Pets

ABOUT THE AREA
Tahoe Donner is one of America’s largest homeowner’s associations, with nearly 6,500 properties and 25,000 members enjoying over 7,000 acres in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

In the winter, enjoy on-site access to cross country and downhill skiing and a snow play area which is a favorite among our younger visitors. In the summer, take advantage of the championship golf course and clubhouse, or bring the family to one of the private swimming pool complexes. You’ll also have access to a private beach club at Donner Lake, where you can avoid the crowds and spend a day paddle boarding, kayaking or sunbathing on provided chaise lounges.
Dining options within the community include The Lodge Restaurant and Pub, winner of the 2015 Open Table Diners’ Choice Award, and Pizza on the Hill, a casual spot perfect for the whole family.

Compared to other North Shore Tahoe locations, staying in Tahoe Donner cuts the drive from the bay area down by close to 45 minutes, so you’ll be enjoying the first cocktail of your vacation while others are still stuck in traffic. Tahoe Donner is minutes away from Historic Downtown Truckee, about 12 miles from Northstar California and 16 miles from Palisades Tahoe (formally known as Squaw/Alpine).

Included with your rental are two guest cards providing access to the amenities available in Tahoe Donner. Each guest card allows access for up to four guests over the age of 6. Daily fee for rental guest per person per day. Children under 7 are free. All images of Tahoe Donner amenities are provided courtesy of Tahoe Donner.

TAHOE DONNER AMENITIES INCLUDE:
• Rec center with work-out facility
• Swimming Pools and hot tub
• Fitness classes
• Downhill ski area (great for kids!)
• Cross country ski area
• Equestrian center
• Tennis center
• 18-hole golf and driving range
• Hiking and so much more!

POLICIES & DISCLOSURES:
1. Maximum daytime and nighttime occupancy is 12 adults.
2. Parking for 5 vehicles. Street parking is prohibited year-round.
3. This home is located in an area with the potential for a very high snow load. 4WD/AWD with snow tires or chains are required during the winter months.

4. Due to Extreme Fire Danger – The use of ANY outdoor firepit or fireplace is strictly prohibited at any of our rental properties. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation as we work to keep our community safe from wildfires. There is an old outdoor fire pit that is not usable.  Attempted use could result in a fine.
 

Town of Truckee Certificate STR21-00778

Amenities

  • Private Hot Tub
  • Community Hot Tub
  • Game Room/Media Room
  • Outdoor Furniture (Seasonal)
  • Access to Private Beach
  • Access to Fitness Center
  • Access to Swimming Pool
  • Pool Table
  • Access to Tennis Courts
  • Gas Grill
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cable Television
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Full Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Driveway Parking for 3
  • Garage Parking for 2
  • Foosball Table
  • No Pets
  • Additional Sleeping Area
  • King Bed
  • NO A/C

Rates and Availability

November 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
$574 /nt
28
$636 /nt
29
$636 /nt
30
$636 /nt
 
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$598 /nt
2
$703 /nt
3
$703 /nt
4
$598 /nt
5
$598 /nt
6
$598 /nt
7
$600 /nt
8
$600 /nt
9
$750 /nt
10
$750 /nt
11
$600 /nt
12
$600 /nt
13
$600 /nt
14
$600 /nt
15
$700 /nt
16
$800 /nt
17
$800 /nt
18
$800 /nt
19
$800 /nt
20
$760 /nt
21
$1,640 /nt
22
$1,640 /nt
23
$1,640 /nt
24
$1,640 /nt
25
$1,640 /nt
26
$1,967 /nt
27
$1,967 /nt
28
$1,967 /nt
29
$1,967 /nt
30
$1,967 /nt
31
$1,967 /nt
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$1,967 /nt
2
$1,967 /nt
3
$1,967 /nt
4
$855 /nt
5
$900 /nt
6
$1,100 /nt
7
$1,100 /nt
8
$900 /nt
9
$900 /nt
10
$900 /nt
11
$945 /nt
12
$1,134 /nt
13
$1,575 /nt
14
$1,575 /nt
15
$1,575 /nt
16
$900 /nt
17
$900 /nt
18
$900 /nt
19
$1,080 /nt
20
$1,080 /nt
21
$1,080 /nt
22
$1,080 /nt
23
$900 /nt
24
$900 /nt
25
$900 /nt
26
$1,080 /nt
27
$1,080 /nt
28
$1,080 /nt
29
$1,080 /nt
30
$900 /nt
31
$900 /nt
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$900 /nt
2
$1,080 /nt
3
$1,080 /nt
4
$1,080 /nt
5
$1,080 /nt
6
$900 /nt
7
$900 /nt
8
$900 /nt
9
$1,080 /nt
10
$1,080 /nt
11
$1,080 /nt
12
$1,080 /nt
13
$900 /nt
14
$900 /nt
15
$900 /nt
16
$1,156 /nt
17
$2,247 /nt
18
$2,247 /nt
19
$2,247 /nt
20
$1,958 /nt
21
$1,554 /nt
22
$1,788 /nt
23
$1,788 /nt
24
$1,985 /nt
25
$1,985 /nt
26
$1,242 /nt
27
$1,035 /nt
28
$900 /nt
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$900 /nt
2
$1,080 /nt
3
$1,080 /nt
4
$1,080 /nt
5
$1,080 /nt
6
$900 /nt
7
$900 /nt
8
$900 /nt
9
$1,080 /nt
10
$1,080 /nt
11
$1,080 /nt
12
$1,080 /nt
13
$900 /nt
14
$900 /nt
15
$900 /nt
16
$1,080 /nt
17
$1,080 /nt
18
$1,080 /nt
19
$1,080 /nt
20
$900 /nt
21
$900 /nt
22
$900 /nt
23
$1,080 /nt
24
$1,080 /nt
25
$1,080 /nt
26
$636 /nt
27
$636 /nt
28
$636 /nt
29
$636 /nt
30
$636 /nt
31
$748 /nt
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$748 /nt
2
$636 /nt
3
$636 /nt
4
$636 /nt
5
$636 /nt
6
$636 /nt
7
$748 /nt
8
$748 /nt
9
$636 /nt
10
$636 /nt
11
$636 /nt
12
$636 /nt
13
$636 /nt
14
$748 /nt
15
$748 /nt
16
$636 /nt
17
$636 /nt
18
$636 /nt
19
$636 /nt
20
$636 /nt
21
$748 /nt
22
$748 /nt
23
$636 /nt
24
$636 /nt
25
$636 /nt
26
$636 /nt
27
$636 /nt
28
$748 /nt
29
$748 /nt
30
$636 /nt
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$636 /nt
2
$636 /nt
3
$636 /nt
4
$636 /nt
5
$748 /nt
6
$748 /nt
7
$636 /nt
8
$636 /nt
9
$636 /nt
10
$636 /nt
11
$636 /nt
12
$748 /nt
13
$748 /nt
14
$636 /nt
15
$636 /nt
16
$636 /nt
17
$636 /nt
18
$636 /nt
19
$748 /nt
20
$748 /nt
21
$636 /nt
22
$636 /nt
23
$636 /nt
24
$636 /nt
25
$636 /nt
26
$790 /nt
27
$790 /nt
28
$790 /nt
29
$670 /nt
30
$670 /nt
31
$670 /nt
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$670 /nt
2
$790 /nt
3
$790 /nt
4
$790 /nt
5
$670 /nt
6
$670 /nt
7
$670 /nt
8
$670 /nt
9
$790 /nt
10
$790 /nt
11
$790 /nt
12
$670 /nt
13
$670 /nt
14
$670 /nt
15
$670 /nt
16
$790 /nt
17
$790 /nt
18
$790 /nt
19
$670 /nt
20
$670 /nt
21
$713 /nt
22
$850 /nt
23
$850 /nt
24
$850 /nt
25
$850 /nt
26
$713 /nt
27
$713 /nt
28
$784 /nt
29
$1,158 /nt
30
$1,158 /nt
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$1,158 /nt
2
$1,158 /nt
3
$1,158 /nt
4
$1,158 /nt
5
$1,158 /nt
6
$1,053 /nt
7
$1,053 /nt
8
$850 /nt
9
$850 /nt
10
$713 /nt
11
$713 /nt
12
$713 /nt
13
$850 /nt
14
$978 /nt
15
$978 /nt
16
$978 /nt
17
$819 /nt
18
$819 /nt
19
$819 /nt
20
$978 /nt
21
$978 /nt
22
$978 /nt
23
$978 /nt
24
$819 /nt
25
$819 /nt
26
$819 /nt
27
$978 /nt
28
$978 /nt
29
$978 /nt
30
$978 /nt
31
$819 /nt
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$713 /nt
2
$713 /nt
3
$850 /nt
4
$850 /nt
5
$850 /nt
6
$850 /nt
7
$713 /nt
8
$713 /nt
9
$713 /nt
10
$850 /nt
11
$850 /nt
12
$850 /nt
13
$850 /nt
14
$713 /nt
15
$713 /nt
16
$713 /nt
17
$850 /nt
18
$850 /nt
19
$850 /nt
20
$790 /nt
21
$670 /nt
22
$670 /nt
23
$670 /nt
24
$670 /nt
25
$790 /nt
26
$790 /nt
27
$790 /nt
28
$670 /nt
29
$670 /nt
30
$670 /nt
31
$770 /nt
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$909 /nt
2
$909 /nt
3
$909 /nt
4
$670 /nt
5
$636 /nt
6
$636 /nt
7
$636 /nt
8
$748 /nt
9
$748 /nt
10
$636 /nt
11
$636 /nt
12
$636 /nt
13
$636 /nt
14
$636 /nt
15
$748 /nt
16
$748 /nt
17
$636 /nt
18
$636 /nt
19
$636 /nt
20
$636 /nt
21
$636 /nt
22
$748 /nt
23
$748 /nt
24
$636 /nt
25
$636 /nt
26
$636 /nt
27
$636 /nt
28
$636 /nt
29
$748 /nt
30
$748 /nt
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$636 /nt
2
$636 /nt
3
$636 /nt
4
$636 /nt
5
$636 /nt
6
$748 /nt
7
$748 /nt
8
$636 /nt
9
$636 /nt
10
$636 /nt
11
$636 /nt
12
$636 /nt
13
$748 /nt
14
$748 /nt
15
$636 /nt
16
$636 /nt
17
$636 /nt
18
$636 /nt
19
$636 /nt
20
$748 /nt
21
$748 /nt
22
$636 /nt
23
$636 /nt
24
$636 /nt
25
$636 /nt
26
$636 /nt
27
$748 /nt
28
$748 /nt
29
$636 /nt
30
$636 /nt
31
$636 /nt
 

Reviews

just missing the mark

Reviewed on2022-04-19 by
Updated on 2022-04-19
4

Beautiful home with beautiful views but disappointingly not vacationer friendly at this price point to purposefully enjoy. The dining chairs were underwhelming and limited for an expansive home (2) of which we were afraid to use due to delicacy. The kitchen provisions to cook were minimal and low quality and how do you have 12 guests and only 11 knives to work with in total... equating to constantly wash tableware. The great room is beautiful but not furnished for a large gathering to be together (12 quests vs. 6 seating) These limitations in turn limited our enjoyment. With just a few minor upgrades, this rental could go from ok to fabulous and leave a guest filling they truly received value for the dreams they had spent $ for and had hoped to create.


Manager Response:

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback from your stay!


Pros and Cons

Reviewed on2022-02-25 by
Updated on 2022-02-25
2

The chalet is well designed in that the bedrooms are not on top of each other, thereby allowing more privacy from one another. Ski in and out to the slopes is obviously a plus in the winter, and a nice sled slope is immediately behind. However....the kitchen has a poor selection of plates and bowls, one of which was badly chipped and the cutlery selection was a disgrace, most of the small spoons had been down the garbage disposal and were roughed up enough to be harmful. We had to empty the dishwasher on our arrival only to find dirty crockery which we had to rewash and the pans which had been put away in the cupboard were mostly dirty with dried egg on them. The dishwasher was not doing a good job, probably partly because there was no detergent - fortunately we brought our own. We were provided with a 2" x 4" kitchen sponge, no pan scrub, probably why the dishes and pans were dirty. All the dining chairs were so wobbly we had to tighten all the joints to feel safe sitting on them, they were a variety of old wooden chairs. The floors were very dirty, probably had been vacuumed but needed a good wash. There was only one rug and that had a hole in it. The rooms were sparse and not in keeping with the high rent of this property. Looked as if the owners were afraid of theft so had stripped the home except for a few baskets and three baskets. We were not advised how to operate the underfloor heating and with four nights of minus temperatures all the bathroom stone floors were freezing. We managed to take down a smoke detector which was beeping, but there were no batteries to replace the old ones. One of the toilet seats down stairs was broken and would not stay up! This was an extremely expensive rental so we were very disappointed to pay so much when for a small outlay, these small things could have been rectified. We had well over a foot of snow on our last night and were expected in the morning to clean the decks and driveway before we checked out at 10.00 a.m. If we were not out by then we would have been charged $150 per half hour. We had to load the dishwasher and set it going, put all our towels in the washer and set it going as well as remove the snow - quite a task which we accomplished and felt we left the house in better shape than when we came there. The hot tub was extremely hot but the water was murky so not at all inviting. Such a disappointment for a nice house with good views that a little consideration for small comforts could not have been addressed.


Manager Response:

We are more than a little shocked to hear about this guest's experience. We operate 7-days a week to help provide customer service and support should things not be right at the property upon arrival or during a guest's stay. We never heard from these guests and were never given an opportunity to make things right for them. We could have definitely addressed their concerns and turned their stay around. To clarify, we do not ask guests to clear decks and driveways of snow. That is not their responsibility. All in all, we acknowledge that there were a few things that could have made this guest's stay more comfortable but were never given the opportunity to address them whilst they were in house. We have since addressed the majority of their concerns. 


4 Star

Reviewed on2022-01-07 by
Updated on 2022-01-07
4

This was our second stay at this lovely home. Stayed here in 2019 too. Intend to stay here again. We have stayed in a number of premium vacation rentals across the western US, so when we spend 15K+ a week, we expect a premium home experience. Like the previous reviewer stated, it's the little things that matter. This home could use updating a bit. Not big cost items to remedy: - winter stays, more rugs for entry/exit (we used towels we brought) - closet hangers, they're cheap at Walmart (home had very little to none) - update kitchenware and cutlery (it's a beautiful luxury kitchen, why not have nice cookware, utensils, good cutlery, larger cook pots, etc..) - yr over yr, the kitchen table/chairs are wearing out .. - we added spices, cooking oil, TP and paper towels (premium home had none) - a couple more beach towels for jacuzzi - no fireplace grate Understand the prior storm impacted the ability for housekeeping to turn the home for our stay, but home was barely cleaned. Dryer also went out early in our stay so had to dry clothes in front of the fireplaces. I could list a number of positives about this awesome mountain home, just think the items above could be easily rectified if luxury home is the target. Particularly, for the premium rent required. If you have stayed in luxury rentals 15-20K+/week, than you can appreciate the little utility and comfort things upon an arrival.


Good stay at Grand Vista Lodge

Reviewed on2021-12-21 by
Updated on 2021-12-21
4

We had a good stay (3 families, 8 adults + a few children) at Grand Vista Lodge in Truckee. We made our way into the lodge right before winter storm started, and stayed for the whole week, so it gave us a unique experience among my 5 vacation rentals in the area. Good: the house is BIG and perfectly designed for our 3 families. One bedroom on the kitchen/living room level and 4 bedroom on the lower level and one kids room with 2 beds on the upper/attic level. We enjoyed all the bedrooms with our children around and two activity rooms, one with pool table and the other with foosball. The location of the house is gorgeous (up on a hill), giving us the great view of the snowy mountain, the plain, and the Donner lake. Kitchen is well equipped with appliances and utensils, so we don't have to bring any cookware. Driveway is easy to access the main road (no slope which could be a big issue during snow season). Things needed to improve: there is no refills for kitchen towel, bathroom garbage liners, no dish washer pod, which are little things for such a big house, but essential to deliver an amazing vacation experience and I wish they could be provided in the closet right in the kitchen. After a power outage on the 2nd day, the force air heating was not functioning for that night, that we only noticed the next day, and fixed it by switch the jumper in the electrical panel (was always giving cool air instead of hot air). Overall, it was a good stay and I wish those small things can be noticed and fixed.


Grand Vista Lodge

Reviewed on2021-11-30 by
Updated on 2021-11-30
5

This beautiful home was our Thanksgiving getaway. Great layout, plenty of space for all. Great location and views. Would love to return when it's snowing!


Grand Vista Lodge

Reviewed on2021-07-09 by
Updated on 2021-07-09
5

The place was great for our family needs. There were lots of bedrooms and bathrooms for all of us. There should be ceiling fans in the bedrooms as there is no air conditioning. The weather got warm and the house was very warm during the day. There should also be screens on all the windows that open so cool nights would be better for sleeping. The last item should be better blinds on windows so that early morning sun wouldn’t wake you up at 5:30 every day. Sun rises were beautiful but not every morning.


Manager Response:

Thank you for your review! Future renters should understand that this home, like the vast majority of homes in the Tahoe area, does not have air conditioning. While it is possible to see warmer temperatures during the summer months, temperatures fall into the low 50s in the evenings, so can be managed. Fans are also provided.


Wonderful stay

Reviewed on2020-02-05 by
Updated on 2020-02-05
5

Check in and out were seamless. The house was better than advertised. Had no idea it was ski in ski out. The staff responded via text or call promptly and helped with anything we needed. Will definitely use tahoe getaways agin.


Spectacular Mountain Home

Reviewed on2019-12-03 by
Updated on 2019-12-03
5

As we entered our large mountain home we saw the views of the mountains, ski trails and snowy trees from afar from the wall of glass. The house had 5 comfortable bedrooms and an open loft also. We had 4 1/2 bathrooms which made it easy for everyone especially since they were private. The deck was large but covered in snow , so the kids could play and make a snowman. The kitchen was large and open and could easily accommodate 12 people. The high ceilings in the open area was lovely to sit and admire the views. We would love to return in the Fall or Spring to enjoy the area at its best. Tahoe Getaways was amazing to deal with. You leave them a message and you’re call or email is returned quickly. I would highly recommend using them and will again in the future.


Map